Aare Swimming in Bern


Category:
Knowledge concerning nature
  • Social practices
Canton:

Description

Bern may not have a lake. However, the River Aare and the extremely popular and - where the river is turbulent - exciting tradition of Aare swimming has recently brought the city international fame. Bern serves as a model for river swimming and its clean water sets an example for Berlin, Boston and other cities. A decisive factor for the tradition of Aare swimming is the water purity, which is exceptional by global standards. While the Aare used to serve as a defensive barrier, water reservoir, food source and transport route, today it is Bern's natural landmark. The free bathing locations at Eichholz, Marzili and Lorraine provide an important recreation area for city's residents and contribute to the high quality of life in Bern.

Aare swimming in Bern is addictive. For 25 years, die-hard swimmers have been participating in in the 350-metre ‘Zibeleschwümme' swim held in late autumn. For all other Bernese, Aare swimming is part and parcel of summer. Two traditional river-water swimming pools serve as starting points: the Marzilibad (1782) and the Lorrainebad (1892); here people meet their friends, change into their swimsuits and walk upstream along a path by the river; from Lorrainebad towards Altenbergsteg, and from Marzili towards Schönausteg. Once you have walked far enough, you jump into the river and drift downstream. If you put your head under water, you will hear Aare music produced by pebbles pulled along on by the current on the riverbed.

Despite clearly visible entry and exit points, the Aare is dangerous and only suitable for confident river swimmers. Most Bernese children jump into the Aare for the first time with their parents. This is a long-awaited experience. Later, they will pass on the tradition to their children.

Image gallery

  • “This poster is an ode to Aare swimming in Bern – for chilly days in winter, when it snows and only die-hard swimmers get into the water.” © Kaspar Allenbach/aare.guru
  • Screenshot of the app aare.guru (2.7.2017) © aare.guru
  • Screenshot of the Aare app– swimming weather temperature (Bern, 2.7.2017) © illuBits Schaad
  • Map of the Aare for boaters and swimmers (Bern, 2017) © Schweizerische Lebensrettungs-Gesellschaft: SLRG
  • Map of the Aare for swimming in the city of Bern © aare.guru
  • Aare you safe – Sign for an exit point at the Marzili © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Aare you safe – slogan on the pavement of Uferweg by the Blutturm © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Aare you safe – poster 2017 © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Marzili in 1898/99 (Müller Atlas) and today © Mülleratlas und GoogleMaps
  • Aare swimming © Marco Zanoni

Video

Wie fühlt sich Aareschwimmen an (18.12.2011). © Aare.guru

Swimming in Bern (17.6.2017) © Diccon Bewes

References and documentation

Publications
  • Christian Aeberhard et al. (Ed.): Heimat Marzili. 80 Portraits aus dem Berner Aarebad. Baden, 2004

  • Peter Gygax: Marzili - Berner Welt am Aareufer. Münsigen-Bern, 1991

  • Franz auf der Maur, Laslo Irmes: Die Aare. Zürich, 1987.

  • Barbara Kerneck: Träume von Klarheit. In: Tageszeitung taz, 22.7.2005 (www.taz.de/!572702/)

  • Andreas Schwab: «Nackt beim Dählhölzli herumspazieren». In: Der kleine Bund, 22.8.1998, p. 7

Documentation

Baignade dans l’Aar à Berne


Catégorie:
Nature et univers
  • Pratiques sociales
Canton:

Description

Berne n'a pas de lac. Mais la baignade dans l'Aar et - un plaisir doublé d'une petite montée d'adrénaline due à la force du courant - attire de plus en plus l'attention au plan international. Des villes comme Berlin ou Boston s'inspirent de ce modèle et aimeraient elles aussi offrir à leurs habitants le bonheur de pouvoir se baigner dans des eaux propres. Car la tradition de la baignade dans l'Aar tient pour beaucoup à la pureté de l'eau, qui est une rareté dans le monde actuel. L'Aar avait autrefois une fonction protectrice, elle jouait le rôle de réserve d'eau, de source d'alimentation et de voie de transport. Aujourd'hui, elle est le symbole d'une ville qui se veut proche de la nature. Les bains gratuits du Eichholz, du Marzili et de la Lorraine sont des lieux de détente et de villégiature situés à deux pas du centre-ville et qui contribuent grandement à la qualité de vie de Berne.

La nage dans l'Aar est addictive. Depuis 25 ans, les plus mordus n'hésitent pas à se jeter à l'eau tard dans l'automne pour parcourir les 350 mètres au programme du « Zibeleschwümme ». Mais pour la plupart des habitants de Berne, nager dans l'Aar évoque les belles journées d'été. Les deux principaux points de départ sont les deux bains fluviaux traditionnels de la ville : celui du Marzili (1782) et celui de la Lorraine (1892). Après y avoir déposé ses vêtements, le baigneur rejoint le cortège des nageurs en maillot de bain qui remontent le long de la rivière : de la Lorraine en direction de Altenbergsteg, du Marzili en direction de Schönausteg. A l'endroit de son choix, on se jette à l'eau et on se laisse porter par le courant. Sous l'eau, on entend la musique de l'Aar : le roulement des galets qui produisent des sons enchanteurs.

Même si les points d'entrée et de sortie de l'eau sont bien signalés, la baignade dans l'Aar reste dangereuse et n'est réservée qu'aux bons nageurs. La plupart des petits Bernois font leur première expérience de l'Aar avec papa et maman. Un événement qu'ils attendaient depuis longtemps. La tradition se perpétue ainsi d'une génération à l'autre.

Galerie d'images

  • Cette affiche est une ode à la baignade dans l’Aar – en hiver, seuls les plus endurcis se baignent sous les flocons de neige © Kaspar Allenbach/aare.guru
  • Capture d’écran de l’app aare.guru (2.7.2017) © aare.guru
  • Capture d’écran de l’App Aare – Température de l’eau (Berne, 2.7.2017) © illuBits Schaad
  • Carte de l’Aar pour les conducteurs de bateaux pneumatiques et les nageurs (Berne, 2017) © Schweizerische Lebensrettungs-Gesellschaft: SLRG
  • Carte des lieux de baignade dans l’Aar dans la villle de Berne © aare.guru
  • Aare you safe – panneau signalant la sortie au Marzili © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Aare you safe – slogan sur la rive de Blutturm © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Aare you safe – affiche 2017 © Sportamt der Stadt Bern
  • Le Marzili en 1898/99 (Müller-Atlas) et aujourd’hui © Mülleratlas und GoogleMaps
  • Baignade dans l’Aar © Marco Zanoni

Documents vidéo

Wie fühlt sich Aareschwimmen an (18.12.2011). © Aare.guru

Swimming in Bern (17.6.2017) © Diccon Bewes

Références et dossier

Publications
  • Christian Aeberhard et al. (Ed.): Heimat Marzili. 80 Portraits aus dem Berner Aarebad. Baden, 2004

  • Peter Gygax: Marzili - Berner Welt am Aareufer. Münsigen-Bern, 1991

  • Franz auf der Maur, Laslo Irmes: Die Aare. Zürich, 1987.

  • Barbara Kerneck: Träume von Klarheit. In: Tageszeitung taz, 22.7.2005 (www.taz.de/!572702/)

  • Andreas Schwab: «Nackt beim Dählhölzli herumspazieren». In: Der kleine Bund, 22.8.1998, p. 7

Dossier